Salters’ National Awards for Science Technicians

About the Awards

These Awards are run by the Salters’ Institute in collaboration with both CLEAPSS and SSERC.

The aim of the Awards is to highlight the importance of technicians in enabling high quality practical work in science in schools and colleges, with the emphasis on promoting and supporting the professional learning and upskilling of technician teamsDon’t worry if you’re the sole technician in a school or college – you’re still eligible!

The awards are to be given as team awards (sole technicians are still eligible!) to Science Technicians in schools and colleges catering for students up to the age of 18 across the UK. A team could be working within or across the sciences. The Awards will be made as follows:

  • Up to 4 awards of £1000 each

We hope that the Awards will continue to heighten the awareness of the importance of Science Technicians to education in this country.

In celebration of the Institute’s Centenary, Awardwinners may also have the opportunity to apply for a Salters’ Technician Network Grant.


How to apply



Supporting Organisations

CLEAPSS is an advisory service providing support in science and technology for a consortium of local authorities and their schools, including technician support.

SSERC (Scottish Schools Education Research Centre) is a Local Authority shared-service providing support across all thirty-two Scottish Education Authorities. 

These Awards, originally established in 2002 by The Salters’ Institute, are also supported by the following institutions:

  • Association for Science Education
  • The Institute of Physics
  • The Royal Society of Biology
  • The Royal Society of Chemistry

More Information

If you have any enquiries, please contact the Programme Co-ordinator at



Name School
Tamara Jowhire, Rhoda Schofield & Victoria Webb Moseley School and Sixth Form
Chris Corio, Michelle Waters & Jenny Wood Queensmead School
Joshua Lee & Jane Withers St Michael’s C of E High School
Rachael Connall Thornton College
Name School
Marina Friend, Daniel Patrick & Julie Worwood Blue Coat Church of England School and Music College
Grainne McAdam Caister Academy
Adam Innis & Harriet Scott The Nottingham Emmanuel School
Judith McKie & Jade Norris Whitburn Church of England Academy
Longbenton High School, Newcastle Upon Tyne Terence Black, Paul Leslie, Julia Wake,  Amber Johnstone Winner 
Blenheim High School, Epsom Nicky Horton, Mags Barry, Stephanie Garrett, Carolyn Harvey, Wendy Leveridge,           Sarah Jane Lumley, Leah Moyse, Runner-up
St. Aldhelm’s  Academy, Parkstone Ms Tracey Black Runner-up
St. Paul’s Way Trust School, London Sandrine Bouchelkia,  Helen Burnikell, Janet Davis Runner-up
Turriff Academy,  Aberdeenshire Catriona Dubbels Runner-up
Name School
Paul Cook Burlington Danes Academy
Steven Roantree Rugby High School
Maxine Turner St Joseph’s College
Anjna Vara Haringey Sixth Form College
Name School
Usha Khamar The Compton School, Finchley
Paula Lindsay West College Scotland, Greenock Campus
Lyn Payne Pimlico Academy
Judith Runnalls Perins School, Alresford
Name School
Yvonne Brailsford Tapton School, Sheffield
Julie Brown Sweyne Park School, Rayleigh
Sandra Cahoon St Killian’s College, Carnlough
Terry Mellor Greenhead College, Huddersfield
Name School
Michel Acreman Rosebery School
Nikki Heber Caterham School
Anne Helliar Gordano School
Amit Nagrani Winchmore School
Name School
Lorraine Collins Highcliffe School, Christchurch
Susan Davis Windsor High School, Halesowen
Karen Gill Gladesmore Community School, Tottenham
Anne Mylchreest Duncanrig Secondary School, East Kilbride
Name School
Sarah Atkinson Castleford High School
Rosemarie Hogg Fortrose Academy
Steve Jarvis Peter Symonds College, Winchester
Gemma Towers Balcarras School, Cheltenham
Name School
Tracey Insuli Coloma Convent School
Colin Littlewood John Leggott Sixth Form College
Caroline Pinder Richard Huish College
Name School
Karen Bell West Suffolk College
Elaine Edwards Hounsdown School
Nevcan Kazim Langley Park School for Girls
Lynn Nickerson Didcot Girls’ School
Name School
Jane Brooksbank Churston Ferrers Grammar School
Janet Weir St James’ Catholic High School
Ann Smith Bishop Thomas Grant Secondary School
Maxine Sweatman Blatchington Mill School
Linda Thorpe Aylsham High School
Name School
Michelle Bartley Durham High School for Girls
Tracy Callen Portchester Community School
Debra Kirton St Joseph’s RC Comprehensive School
Carole Potter The Ellen Wilkinson School for Girls

Awards Partners

View all partners