Salters’ Centenary Awards

The Salters’ Institute Centenary Awards are for chemists and chemical engineers in industry. 

The purpose of the Awards is to recognise and support individuals who are starting out in their career and who have the potential to make an outstanding long-term contribution to industries that use or are related to chemistry and chemical engineering.  

The Awards are an important part of the Institute’s programme of activities and support its mission to promote the practical applications of chemistry at all levels. Award winners will be asked to join the Salters’ Alumni Network and participate in the Institute’s educational outreach, activities and events alongside previous winners.

Up to 4 Awards, each of £1,000 will be made to candidates who: 

  • Should be working in the chemical or allied industries in the UK
  • Have between 3-5 years in industry
  • Have a degree in either chemistry or chemical engineering at Bachelors/Masters/Postgraduate level

Selection Procedure

An Industrial Site Manager, Head of Department or equivalent may nominate one candidate. 

Candidates should complete the nomination form which must be supported by a confidential reference, which pays special attention to the criteria listed below.  Shortlisted candidates will be invited for interview.

The awards will be made by a panel of senior industrialists who will consider the following criteria:

  • Evidence of commitment to an industrial career
  • Understanding of challenges and opportunities facing industry and a vision of how they can contribute
  • Ability to communicate their interest and enthusiasm to a wider audience
  • Willingness and ability to take part in the Institute’s activities

Download the nomination form here.

Nominate a Candidate

Nominations open on Monday 2 August 2021.

The deadline for applications is Monday 13 September 2021 and interviews will take place on Tuesday 2 November 2021 at Salters’ Hall, London.

Please note we have undertaken measures to ensure our Hall is COVID secure and we will continue to monitor Government guidelines closely. Should Government guidelines be updated, we will of course inform all candidates regarding how this will affect the interview process.

Awards will be presented to successful candidates at the Salters’ Institute Awards Ceremony on Friday 3 or 10 December 2021.

More Information

For further information on and to apply for the Salters’ Institute Centenary Awards please click here.

If you have any enquiries, please email


Name Organisation
Rosa Cookson GlaxoSmithKline
Clementine Chambon Oorja Development Solutions
Toby Armstrong GlaxoSmithKline
Hisham Hamid BP
Name Organisation
David Burns Syngenta
David Growney Lubrizol
Anna Watson AstraZeneca
Conor Wilkinson Lubrizol
Name Organisation
Julia Cole Uniper UK Ltd
Shaun Hughes AstraZeneca
Saul Moorhouse BP
Brett Rickard Valero Energy Ltd
Name Organisation
Hannah Lithgow University of Strathclyde
Laetitia Rynhoud GlaxoSmithKline
Andrew Wadsworth Imperial College London
Bo Zhang University of Oxford

Awards Partners

View all partners